Research Excellence Framework (REF)

REF 2014

used echo chainsaw As in the run-up to the RAE in 2008, AHRA has continued to campaign for strong representation for architectural humanities research within the restructured assessment panel for Architecture, Built Environment and Planning (C16). As one of HEFCE's officially designated 'Nominating Bodies' AHRA made a number of recommendations for membership of the panel.

used echo chainsaw Details are available on the HEFCE website here:

lancelot chainsaw disc


how to measure chainsaw chain  

Research Assessment Exercise 2008 Historically, research in AHRA's core areas of interest - architectural history, theory, culture, design and urbanism - was significantly under-represented within the Research Assessment Exercise. As this process impacts on the allocation of substantial resources from the Higher Education Funding Councils in the UK, university researchers in architectural humanities have been disadvantaged in the distribution of research funding.

loan calculator excel download amortization AHRA campaigned for better representation in the build-up to RAE 2008. Following our response to the consultation on the Roberts Report in September 2003, AHRA was included on HEFCE's official list of nominating bodies for membership of the new RAE assessment panels. Alongside the RIBA and Schosa, AHRA pushed for an overhaul of the 'Built Environment' panel, which was subsequently renamed 'Architecture and the Built Environment'. In total, 8 of AHRA's nominations were offered places on Panel 30, providing a broader range of expertise and a stronger voice for architectural humanities. The full membership included:


go here Alan Penn (University College London)


  • Sarah Chaplin (Kingston University)
  • Richard Coyne (University of Edinburgh)
  • Murray Fraser (University of Westminster)
  • Colin Gray (University of Reading)
  • Phillip Jones (Cardiff University)
  • David Langford (University of Strathclyde)
  • Jim Meikle (Davis Langdon PKS)
  • Simon Pepper (University of Liverpool)
  • Koen Steemers (University of Cambridge)
  • Robert Tavernor (London School of Economics)
  • Antony Thorpe (Loughborough University)
  • Jeremy Till (University of Sheffield)
  • Christopher Tweed (Queen's University Belfast)
  • Catherine Ward Thompson (Edinburgh College of Art)
  • John Worthington (DEGW Ltd)
  • Terry Wyatt (Hoare Lea)

special power of attorney for loan purposes Further details can be found on the RAE website at: