Theory’s Curriculum

Architectural Association, 36 Bedford Square, London

May 28 2019

Organised by Joseph Bedford with Mark Morris, Mollie Claypool, Mario Carpo, Pier Vittorio Aureli, Jane Rendell

Theory's Curriculum 

Date: Tuesday 28 May 2019 
Time: 18:30 
Venue: AA Lecture Hall

Syllabi are theory's infrastructure. They set a program for study, give structure to vast networks of ideas, and define an interpretative stance on the world. This evening event will address who our theory syllabi represent, what theoretical objects or concerns they should address, and why we should continue to teach architectural theory today? The program will include the presentation of the e–flux Architecture project Theory's Curriculum as well as responses to the project by panelists  who will discuss the project and the who, what and why of architectural theory today.


For more details about the Theory's Curriculum project, please visit:




Joseph Bedford is Assistant Professor of History and Theory at Virginia Tech. He holds a PhD from Princeton University, architecture degrees from Cambridge University and Cooper Union, and is the founding editor of Attention: The Audio Journal for Architecture and The Architecture Exchange, a platform for theoretical exchange in architecture.


Mark Morris is Head of Teaching and Learning at the AA also representing the AA at the Higher Education Academy and London Higher Directors Group. He completed his MArch at Ohio State University where he received the AIA Henry Adams medal, and took his PhD at the London Consortium supported by the RIBA Research Trust. His research focuses on questions of visual representation in the context of the history of architectural education. Mark previously taught architectural theory and design at Cornell University where he served as Coordinator of Post-Professional Degree Programmes, Director of Graduate Studies, and Director of Exhibitions. He is the author of two books: Models: Architecture and the Miniature and Automatic Architecture. 


Mollie Claypool is an architecture theorist and educator. She is a Lecturer in Architecture at the Bartlett School of Architecture where she is currently Co-Director of Design Computation Lab, Coordinator of History & Theory in MArch Architectural Design. Her research interests include the economic, social and political implications of automation on architectural production.


Mario Carpo is the inaugural Reyner Banham Professor of Architectural Theory and History at the Bartlett, University College London. Carpo's research and publications focus on the relationship among architectural theory, cultural history, and the history of media and information technology. Recent publications include; The Second Digital Turn: Design Beyond Intelligence (2017), The Alphabet and the Algorithm, a history of digital design theory (2011); and The Digital Turn in Architecture, 1992-2012, an AD Reader. His Architecture in the Age of Printing (2001) has been translated into several languages.


Pier Vittorio Aureli is an architect and educator. He teaches at the Architectural Association and he is Louis Kahn Visiting Professor at the School of Architecture at Yale University.  Aureli is the author of many essays and several books including The Possibility of an Absolute Architecture (2011) and The Project of Autonomy: Politics and Architecture Within and Against Architecture (2008). He is co-founder of Dogma, an architectural studio based in Brussels and focused on the project of the city. Together with Dogma he recently published two books on domestic space: The Room of One's Own (2017) and Loveless: Minimum Dwelling and its Discontents (2018). 


Jane Rendell (BSc, DipArch, MSc, PhD) is Professor of Critical Spatial Practice at the Bartlett School of Architecture, UCL, where she supervises MA and PhD projects which explore writing as ethical, poetic and situated praxis. Jane has introduced concepts of ‘critical spatial practice’ and ‘site-writing’ through her authored books The Architecture of Psychoanalysis (2017), Silver (2016), Site-Writing (2010), Art and Architecture (2006), and The Pursuit of Pleasure (2002).